Tour de France – 2015

The 2015 Tour De France completed a rest day on Tuesday July 21st. Through 16 stages it is Christopher Froome of Great Britain part of Team Sky with the lead. He has one stage victory that coming in the tenth stage up high in the mountains. Froome has worn the yellow jacket for ten straight stages heading into Stage 17. The Team Sky cycler holds a three minute and ten second lead over the second place rider in Nairo Quintana Rojas from Colombia who rides for the Movistar Team. His best finish was a third place in the tenth stage.

Christopher Froome: The 30 year old rider was the winner of the 2013 Tour de France and has been riding professionally for eight years. He is now in his sixth year with Team Sky. A year ago Froome suffered three crashes on course in the fifth stage which denied him a chance for a repeat title.

Nairo Quintana: Currently in second place in the Tour de France 2015. There are still several climbing stages left in the 2015 Tour de France and is a definite threat to Froome. Quintana’s strength is the mountain stages. His best results were a win in the 2014 Giro d’Italia as well as finishing second to eventual winner Christopher Froome in the 2013 Tour De France. In 2015 Quintana took first place in the Tirreno Adriatico an event than had seven stages and was stop three on tour.

Tejay Van Garderen: Currently in third place by just over three minutes. The 26 year old American rider is part of the BMC Racing team since 2012. Was a winner of Stage 9 of the Tour De France in 2015. Tejay in 2015 was second in the Tour of Oman and Criterium de Dauphine.

Alejandro Valverde: Sitting in fourth place through 16 stages. The 35 year old Spaniard has been part of the Movistar Team since 2005. Valverde has never won the Tour de France. He has notched up wins in the 2009 Vuelta a Espana as well as three wins in the Liege-Bastogne Liege with a victory coming in 2015.

Alberto Contador: In fifth place by 4 minutes and 23 seconds in this year’s Tour de France. The 32 year old Spaniard has a win in the Tour de France in 2007. A 2010 win was stripped due to doping. Contador has his career mired with doping scandals. In 2015 Contador was the winner of the Giro d’ Italia.

Geraint Thomas: From Wales the 29 year old is currently in sixth place and is part of Team Sky. In Stage 16 Thomas suffered a horrific crash and was fortunate enough to complete the race escaping from a serious injury as he went head first into a telephone pole. Thomas has an overall win in the 2015 Volta ao Algarve. He was fifth in the 2015 Paris-Nice.

Robert Gesink: The 29 year old from the Netherlands currently sits in seventh place. He was a winner in 2012 at the Tour of California, 2011 Tour of Oman and in 2010 won at Montreal. He is a member of Team Rabobank. Gesink overcame a major knee injury in 2015 to get into form for this year’s Tour de France.

Vincenzo Nibali: Currently in eighth place sitting seven minutes and forty nine seconds behind the leader. The 30 year old Italian was the winner of the 2014 Tour de France. He also has victories at the 2010 Vuelta a Espana and 2013 Giro d’Italia. He has finishes no greater than 10th at this year’s tours.

Bauke Mollema: The 28 year old from Netherlands is sitting in 9th place at the 2015 Tour de France. He is a member of the Trek Factor Racing team. His best finish in 2015 was a second at the Tirreno Adriatico. He has a win in the 2007 Tour de I’Avenir and Circuito Montanes.

Warren Barguil: He is sitting in tenth place in the 2015 Tour de France by 11 minutes and three seconds. He has had an eighth place finish in Stage 8 along with ninth place finishes in Stage 10 and 11. The 23 year old Frenchmen had two stage wins in the 2013 Vuelto a Espana. He had a good 2014 campaign with three top ten overall finishes.

Posted in RACING