Camellia Bowl - MAC Championship

MAC Championship

Ohio, Western Michigan set for battle in MAC championship game (Enter Contest). The undefeated and 21st-ranked Broncos, who face Ohio for the Mid-American Conference championship at Detroit’s Ford Field on Friday, were 1-11 just three years ago.

Western Michigan Broncos (12-0, 8-0 MAC)

Zach Terrell and Corey Davis are quite a dynamic duo for coach P.J. Fleck offense. The senior quarterback and top wide receiver are among the top offensive pairing in NCAA football this season. They have played magnificently during this dream season for Western Michigan, which will likely emerge from the Group of Five and earn a New Year’s Six bowl berth with a victory. Terrell has completed 71.7 percent of his pass attempts with 30 touchdown passes and just one interception. His favorite target, Davis, has 83 receptions for 1,283 yards and 17 touchdowns. Davis set the FBS career receiving yards record in the Broncos’ 55-35 win over Toledo on Friday, which clinched the MAC West Division title. Davis enters the title game with 5,068 yards.

The Broncos (12-0 overall, 8-0 conference) haven’t been to the MAC championship game since 2000, when they were defeated by Marshall for the second straight season. Speculation is running rampant that Fleck will leave for a bigger program.

Ohio Bobcats (8-4, 6-2 MAC)

The Bobcats are also seeking their first MAC championship victory. They were defeated by Northern Illinois, 23-20, in their last trip to Ford Field in 2011 and are 0-3 overall in the title game. Ohio (8-4, 6-2) won a tiebreaker over Miami (Ohio) to capture the East Division. The Bobcats have won four of their last five, including a 9-3 win over Akron on Nov. 22 to secure their berth. Freshman Quinton Maxwell has taken over at quarterback during the second half of the season, completing 55.9 percent of his passes with eight touchdowns and four interceptions. Senior quarterback Greg Windham missed the last three games with a leg injury and his status for Friday’s game is uncertain. Junior Dorian Brown (794 yards, four TDs) and sophomore Maleek Irons(426 yards, five TDs) head the rushing attack.


Posted in CFB

Leave a Comment: